Table of Contents

Visibility groups

Christian Schulz Updated by Christian Schulz

In the following article we will show you our Visibility Groups feature.

Visibility groups can be used when not all users should have access to the same events in Sweap. This can be the case, for example, when several divisions work together with Sweap. You can use visibility groups as "permissions" to collaborate or view.

If you use visibility groups, you can administrate which events are shown to which users.

Administrators have access to all visibility groups and events. The creation of visibility groups should therefore be done by an administrator. Of course, other users can also have the permission to do this, if their user role is created / adjusted accordingly.

You can assign as many visibility groups to an user as you want, so there can be users who belong to multiple visibility groups. According to the visibility groups, the user can view all events of these groups.

If an user can create new events, he can only do so in the visibility group(s) activated for him.

To illustrate the use of visibility groups a bit more clearly, we have created an example for you:

visibility groups overview

User 1 is the administrator of the account. As an administrator, user 1 has access to all visibility groups and can therefore see all events.

User 2 belongs to visibility group 1. Event 1, Event 2 and Event 3 have been created in visibility group 1. User 2 therefore only has access to these three events.

User 3 belongs to visibility group 2. Event 4 and Event 5 have been created in visibility group 2. User 3 therefore only has access to these two events.

User 4 belongs to both visibility group 2 and visibility group 3. In visibility group 2, event 4 and event 5 have been created, in visibility group 3, event 6, event 7 and event 8 have been created. User 4 therefore has access to 2 visibility groups and, according to these visibility groups, to five events. 

1. Create visibility groups

You can create visibility groups in the main menu of Sweap. To do so, click on 'Account Settings' and open the 'Users & Permissions' section. Now click on the tab 'Visibility Groups'.

With the button "+ Create Visibility Group" you can create as many groups as you want - quick and easy.

Create visibility group

2. Assignment of a visibility group to an user

You can administer which of your users belong to which visibility group. You can make this setting directly when creating a user or later.

Information about creating a new user can be found here.

Within the user settings you can define if a user is assigned to one, more or no specific visibility group. If no groups are selected, the user can see all events of the account.

As soon as you have saved the change, the user is assigned to the selected visibility group and will only see the events of this group.

Visibility group assignment user

3. Assign an event to a visibility group

Events can also be assigned to visibility groups. A user who belongs to visibility groups can only create or modify events that belong to his visibility group. An user who belongs to only one visibility group will not be shown the option to assign an event to a visibility group.

If an user is assigned to several visibility groups, he must select the group for which the event will be visible while creating an event. Multiple selection is possible in order to grant access to several groups (divisions).

Similar to the assignment of users, you can make this setting directly when creating a new event or when editing an event. More information about creating a new event can be found here.

Assign visibility group to event

How did we do?

Roles and permissions

Contact